One of my clients recently asked me about how long it would take to settle her case from the date we sent off a demand to the insurance company in her car wreck case. Before even sending a demand, a claimant in a personal injury case needs to complete his or her medical treatment, so that amount of time will vary according to the injuries and treatment. After the treatment is completed and the medical bills and records are gathered (that normally takes at least 60 days), the timeline of settlement from the date of the demand also depends on the circumstances of each case. Under Georgia law (O.C.G.A. Section 9-11-67.1), the minimal amount of time a claimant must give an insurance company or at-fault driver to settle a bodily injury claim based on personal injuries sustained in a motor vehicle collision prior to filing a lawsuit is 30 days from the receipt of the offer….Read More.
About the Author Betty Nguyen Davis is an Atlanta attorney who solely focuses her practice
on plaintiff’s personal injury work. Betty is consistently recognized by her
peers as a top attorney in Georgia by Super Lawyers...Read More